About the Estate

Nestled within the Norfolk Broads, Claxton Manor Estate lies 8 miles south-east of Norwich, adjoining the River Yare.

Steeped in over 1000 years of history, the estate was home to Claxton Castle, the ruins of which can be seen to this day.

Today, the estate generates income through a diverse range of activities. However, central to our operation today is being able to combine traditional beef and arable farming practices alongside innovative conservation programmes, ensuring a haven for the unique wildlife found throughout the estate's diverse habitats.

How the estate works

A: Estate cottages

B: Woodlands

C: Pedigree Hereford herd

D: Arable farming

E: Marsh and grassland

A brief history of claxton manor estate

References to an estate and manor at Claxton can be retraced back to the Domesday Book (1086), when it was under the ownership of Godric, the steward of William the Conqueror, after being stripped from the rebellious Earl of Norfolk.
 
A license to build a castle at Claxton, with its strong defensive position on the edge of the impregnable marshlands to the north, was granted to Sir William de Kerdeston by King Edward III in 1333.
 
The estate and castle has since been through a number of owners, including Anne of Cleves (the divorced wife of Henry VIII).
 
The majority of the castle was demolished in the early 17th century and replaced with the current manor house.
 
The ruins of the castle can still be seen today. In particular, part of the outer castle wall and one of the towers remain largely intact. As a Grade 2 listed building, the castle ruins are carefully preserved to retain their character.